14 Weeks Update

This week’s post comes with a bit of a delay (change the record already). I actually started it on Thursday with the intentions of finishing on Friday but was hit with some pretty hard news. My last weekly update talked about Erin’s Grandma’s reaction to the big news. It was so funny to watch her share with everyone who passed by her door that she was going to be a great-grandmother. She had been dealing with body pains for quite some time that kept her pretty much bedridden but  I have to admit I was completely stunned when I received a call Friday morning from Erin letting me know she had passed away after suffering a stroke. It didn’t feel real. It still doesn’t.

I never grew up with close grandparents. Erin’s grandparents were what I always dreamed of growing up… they were close, they came to everything, gave you $10 on your birthday. They always treated me like part of the family and I was so excited for our child to be able to experience life with a great-grandmother. As much as we will miss her, I know our child will still be very blessed having four amazing grandparents who will love (and will probably spoil it).

I did have a lot too keep my mind busy over the weekend. Erin and I volunteered on behalf of my work at the Arthritis Foundation Walk and took photos of all the groups! I also had an event Sunday at the Musical Instrument Museum for the Phoenix Children’s Hospital as our stylists did hair and makeup for about 20 children with Down’s Syndrome walking in their inaugural Downright Beautiful fashion show. It was truly worth getting out of bed to see those adorable kids shine as they walked down the runway. 🙂

Needless to say, I had a pretty difficult week. I’ve been trying to take it pretty easy as to not stress out the baby. I’ve kind of failed on that this week but motherhood isn’t perfect. I might as well learn that lesson now. I’m just trying to get lots of sleep to try and keep calm. So… before I’m behind 3 or so weeks, here it is… Baby Update…

How far along: 14 weeks

Baby is the size of a: lemon

Symptoms: Just moody.

Total weight gain: Nothing yet!

Maternity clothes: Just lots of leggings and loose t-shirts.

Stretch marks: No

Sleep: Lots of it! All the time!

Best moment of this week: Possibly feeling the baby move around

Miss anything: Wearing pants with buttons

Movement: Sometimes I feel like like I’m getting the “flutters” but I’m still not sure.

Food cravings: Otter Pops

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope

Have you started to show yet: Just a small little bump

Gender: We may do a gender peek in a couple weeks

Labor signs: No

Belly button in or out: In

Wedding rings on or off: On

Happy or moody most of the time: Moody and Emotional!!!

Looking forward to: Feeling more of the moving baby.

14 Week Baby Bump Photo:

Showing off my little bump at the zoo while volunteering for the Arthritis Foundation’s AF Walk at the Phoenix Zoo.

Baby Bump 14 Weeks

Leave a Reply

