Elephant Feet: The Side Effects of Pregnancy Set In + WTF is a Frank Breech? (32 Week Update + Bump Shot)

IMG_1718

No, you aren’t looking at some wild animal foot there… that’s my foot. Just after wearing some wedges for about an hour and a half at 32 weeks. Jeez. I finally discovered some of the *not as fabulous* aspects of pregnancy in the last week. Not only does this extreme swelling occur almost daily now, I’ve been nauseous and extremely exhausted. Naps have become a MUST now and I’m trying to load up on them before baby comes.

This week was so much fun. We had an incredible baby shower (which I’ll need to post about separately because it was so amazing). I had so much fun hanging out with my mom over the weekend when she came into town. Just a little preview of the weekend…

IMG_1660

How adorable are they DIY centerpieces my MIL made??

IMG_1633

Adorable *fenga pappit* for Baby Elliott (Tyson wants to play with it too)

IMG_1663

IMG_1690

amazing animal cookie cupcakes I made for the shower Erin’s work threw for us! They were sooo good!!!

We also had our 32 week appointment and discovered that our little girl is breech. I didn’t really know what that meant. There are several breech presentations. Our LO is actually Frank Breech (aka – folded up like a lawn chair). During our Birth Basics class, we learned about this specific type of breech presentation and the instructor’s granddaughter was born basically with her legs in the air and they needed a day of so to go down. Not the kind of lady like position I’m looking for from our little girl. 😉 Unfortunately because of her position, we were not able to see her little face during the U/S… hoping she moves and we can get a little bit of a sneak peak before she makes her big debut!

The U/S tech told us that they usually stay in the position they are in after 34 weeks so she needs to flip in the next couple weeks to ensure a normal delivery. I really, really, really, really, really don’t want to have a c-section. I mean, obviously I will if absolutely necessary… but it’s not my first choice. We go back in at 36 weeks for another ultrasound and see where she is. At that point, we need to decide if we want to do an external cephalic version (a medical procedure where the doctor helps move the baby into head down position) or just schedule a c-section at 39 weeks. That doesn’t mean she won’t turn up to the date of birth but there is a high likelihood that she wouldn’t move in time. Boo.

Looks comfy huh?

Looks comfy huh?

I did get some things accomplished this week.. well kind of… We put up 1/2 of the shelves!!! Yay!!! Since it’s been on my weekly goals for-ev-er, I thought this was huge. I also ordered my breast pump. They won’t ship anything until 30 days out so it’ll be awhile but at least it’s done.

IMG_1747

We also finished our Birth Basics class! The last class was the best because Erin had to massage me and find out what I liked. I guess the breathing techniques won’t matter if I end up having a c-section but at least he can take away what kind of massage to do during the next couple weeks.

Now for my weekly update:

How far along: 32 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Squash (I know there are a lot of varieties but I guess it’s just a regular squash?)

Symptoms: SUPER Swollen Feet and Ankles, Movement, Back Pain, Weird numb spot on the top of my abdomen

Total weight gain: 23 lbs

Maternity clothes: A new dress for my baby shower – nonmaternity.

Stretch marks: Nope

Sleep: Sounds great right about now.

Best moment of this week: My 2 Baby Showers!! One thrown by my MIL, Aunt in Laws and Great Aunt in Law (in Illinois via FaceTime)! The other at Erin’s work (also done via FaceTime)!

Miss anything: Sleeping comfortably!

Movement: Lots of rolling and pushing around in there.

Food cravings: Pizza.

Labor signs: Nope

Belly button in or out: Innie!

Wedding rings on or off: Had to lose the wedding band last week. 😦

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy

Looking forward to: Getting our new stroller. We traded in the Graco for the BOB (Erin wanted something with 4 wheels). Can’t wait to see it.

Baby Bump Shot:

Posting 2 this week because I’m loving how big she’s getting!

IMG_1625

IMG_1715

Leave a Reply

