Month Eight

IMG_4804

8 months was huge! I’m still in disbelief that my little “baby” will be ONE in just four short months.

SAY WHAT????

In the last week, she started crawling, pulling herself up and added one more word into her tiny vocabulary… DADA! It was the perfect Father’s Day gift for Erin. It’s crazy how quickly they move once they learn how to crawl. She’s sprouting up so quickly. I can hardly believe it.

P is officially a belly sleeper. As a new parent, I swear you are programmed to freak out if your baby it’s as flat as possible on his/her back. The first time P started sleeping on her stomach, I lost my mind. I was up every two seconds, checking the monitor, then going into her room to make sure she was breathing. I kept trying to place her back on her back but within seconds, she would roll over to her comfort position. It stressed me out. I still check occasionally but I’m getting used to it now.

IMG_4697_2

Baby sleep is adorable. She’s starting to get bed head and sleep lines on her face. It’s been so hot here that we have her just sleeping in a onesie. We had to lower her bed to the lowest position since she likes to explore and pull herself up everywhere. She’s a monster.

In other exciting news, P is starting to dance. She’s very selective on her music but she’s currently obsessed with Baby VuVu’s Everybody Dance Now. I randomly found this YouTube video when I was trying to calm her down and she loves it. I’m pretty sure it’s one of those cheesy Japanese-style ringtones advertised on TV that costs $8.99. On YouTube it’s free… and a lifesaver. When that techno jam comes on, P just starts rocking back and forth and smiling.

Monthly Update:

Weight: 14 lbs, 6 oz (at home estimate)

Length: 25.25″ (at home estimate)

Diaper Size: 3

Clothing Size: 3 months onesies / 6 months everything else – 6 mo dresses are still pretty big

Nicknames: Nut

Health: Reflux is back again 😦

Sleep: I just want to brag and brag about her sleep but I’m afraid it will come back to haunt me so I’ll just say… it’s all good.

Diet: Introducing real pieces of food (not just purees)

Baby Gear Love: Plush Baby Dolls

Loves: Eating, trying to walk, crawling, banging her hands against everything, poking mom and dad in the nose/eyes/mouth

Dislikes: Apricots – for real. Like won’t touch them. I can’t even put them in anything. She knows!

Milestones: Says Dada (June 16), Started crawling-ish – will crawl to object or person (June 14), pulls herself up, can sit up by herself, picks up small pieces of food

Parenting Fails: Haven’t baby proofed the house yet. ‘Nough said.

Parenting Successes: She’s been great about free play time and she’s taking naps out of the swing! *HOORAY*

Looking forward to: Teeth??? Will they ever come?

Goals for next month: Encouraging walking, more words

2 thoughts on “Month Eight

    • justaudrey says:

      Aww thanks! It’s so crazy how quickly they grow up. Doesn’t it feel like she was born yesterday? I count my blessings every day that she’s healthy, happy and mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

