Month Nine

IMG_5144

Well hello NINE MONTHS! My little Peanut is crawling and climbing all over the place. You can’t leave her alone for. a. second. She sticks everything in her mouth and is making all sorts of sounds. She growls now. Like a lot. She looks at us and says, “MAMA”, in her super scary and growly voice. She’s also starting to laugh.. a lot!

My EverydayFamily weekly email told me at this point, infants are starting to assert their independence. I totally agree! P is a lady about town. She wants to go where she wants, when she wants. Thankfully I can still swaddle her so I can get her to take a nap quickly. I think the swaddle is more like a comfy blanket at this point. I know she can easily break out of it (and does 80% of the time) but she loves just being wrapped up cozy.

Palmer’s 9 month checkup was great! She’s measuring in the 5th percentile for weight (which is an improvement). Head size was in the 25th percentile. The doctor said she looks awesome. She said we should introduce more and more table foods. Because she doesn’t have any teeth, we have to wait a little on introducing pieces of chicken or steak. She said we can try ground meats. I think we are going to try and introduce yogurt and eggs in the next month. Her doctor also estimated that based on her progress, she thinks she’ll be walking by 11 months!

Monthly Update:

Weight: 14 lbs, 14.75 oz

Length:Ā 25.75ā€³ – Erin thinks it’s more like 26″ and it was a bad measure.

Diaper Size: 3

Clothing Size: 3 month onesies, 6 month everything else – Anyone else notice clothes from Gap run super huge? She can’t fit into the 6-12 mo pants. They are massive on her.

Nicknames: Peanut Butter

Health: Great!

Sleep: Perfect – between 9-12 hours a night.

Diet: A mixture of purees and whole fruits and veggies – Introduced asparagus, beets, rutabegas, watermelon and parsnips this month and she loved them all!

Baby Gear Love: Wooden Blocks and Tyson’s Tennis Balls.

Loves: Scream talking, Waving, Laughing, Meeting new people, Peek-a-Boo, Pulling Mommy’s hair

Dislikes: I can’t really think of anything she dislikes! She’s been pretty happy lately. She didn’t really like watermelon.

Milestones: CLAPS! Can bring the spoon to her mouth. Waves. Crawling everywhere. Can move around while standing.

Parenting Fails: After our terrible airport time coming back from Denver, I was so tired. Like so, so tired. I was sitting on the couch with Erin and Palmer watching TV when Erin asked if I could watch her. Of course I said yes and we sat on the couch. I don’t know how much time passed between Erin leaving and my body completely shutting down but I was woken by Erin shouting my name. Palmer was standing at the end of the couch and slapping the end table while I was just sleeping! Luckily she was fine and Erin picked her up but that didn’t stop me from feeling so bad. I felt terrible. She could have fallen off!

Parenting Successes: We made it on two flights with little to no crying! Thank you to the humming from the plane šŸ™‚

Looking forward to: More interacting! Starting to plan her FIRST BIRTHDAY!! More foods.

Goals for next month:Ā Helping her stand up on her own/walk

2 thoughts on “Month Nine

  1. akw62307 says:

    Your pictures are adorable! Sounds like she’s doing great! I take it her sleep issues must have resolved? Ours ended up being a couple of nights and then went back to normal for the most part.

    I hear ya on planning the first birthday. We’re already doing the same!

Leave a Reply

