My Dream Job

FullSizeRender

When I was a little, I was the kid that wanted to be everything and beyond. I wrote on a poster when I was 9 years old that I wanted to be a Naval Officer (like my dad), a teacher, author and a model. Bahaha on the last one. I swear… my dream job changed each week.

IMG_5372

Then in middle school, I thought I would like to be a newscaster when I was older. I even did a job shadow at a local news station. I got to sit behind the desk and pretend to read the news on the teleprompter and do the weather. I thought I was so cool.

Fast forward to my senior year of high school, I dreamed of becoming a real estate agent after graduation. I quickly moved onto a new dream when I started college. I wanted to study journalism and PR and plan political campaigns for “honest politicians”. I realized very quickly that was not a real thing. Phhsst. Honest politicians.

Desperate for a new dream job, I took direction from Sex in the City. I wanted to be a Samantha. A wild PR woman about town. I dreamed of planning these fabulous events, drinking cosmos and rubbing elbows with fabulous people. Haha… I’m pretty sure that’s one of the first things they said in my senior capstone PR classes. LIFE IS NOT LIKE SEX IN THE CITY!

That’s right… I have had career ADD my whole life… and I still do.

IMG_7135

the first event I ever worked. no cosmos were consumed before, during or after.

I love positions that allow me to evolve and learn new skills. Before I decided to stay home with Palmer, I managed the marketing and events for one of the major salon chains in Arizona. I loved that the position allowed me to explore opportunities that were interesting to me (like graphic design and events).

IMG_6261

my favorite work photo ever. it perfectly describes what erin thought of helping me out on long event days.

The dream job bug bit me ago a couple of years ago and I thought about leaving the industry all together to pursue a career as a baker. See the struggle I face?

So… if I had to really think about it, I guess my dream job would allow me to have the flexibility to be here for Palmer as much as possible. I would love to continue to support/plan high-profile events, preferably doing something working with charities. I like working as an in-house person. I’m not quite sure if I would be great in an agency setting or even as a freelancer. I don’t like being the boss but I like being in charge (or as a highly respected opinion).

I’m open to whatever comes my way in the future. Right now, I’m just blessed being Palmer’s mom. I’ve never in my life felt more challenged and more rewarded at the same time. When I see her grow and learn new things, I feel so accomplished. I can honestly say that I’ve never had that feeling from any of my past jobs. Blessed. I’m just really blessed right now.

One thought on “My Dream Job

Leave a Reply

