ch-ch-ch-changes

Things change so quickly with babies. You feel super confident in your schedule, in their abilities, and then basically in an instant, boom… it just turns upside down. This has been one of those weeks. I think I’ve said this about a million times before but I mean it this time… WHERE DID MY BABY GO???!!

IMG_5796

We started doing incorporating big girl activities into our daily schedule. Like when I brush my teeth, P brushes her tooth. It’s adorable and it’s made a HUGE difference in how well she feeds herself. She actually can use a fork or spoon and put food in her mouth (not just in her lap).

IMG_5779

And the crawling and climbing… seriously! She’s always trying to inch up that leg so she can climb onto things but I have been thankful that her short stature keeps both feet on the ground… until this week. She’s scaling things that she shouldn’t be able to climb onto and it’s scaring the crap out of me. Plus she’s so fast that I pull her off of something and she’s back up in 2.2!

IMG_5816

Not only does she climb onto everything, she climbs UNDER everything and gets trapped. This is when her being super petite gets scary because she can fit anywhere. If I lose sight of her, I have to search HIGH and LOW. For some reason, I think her being stuck under things causes more harm than climbing because she’s always banging her dang head.

IMG_5814

The last major change is just her sudden awareness when we are away. Palmer has spent a couple evenings with her grandparents while we went out and she actually cried out for me. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a little touched by it. πŸ™‚

This morning Erin left for a business trip and she’s been sassy all day. The only time she was able to calm down is when she was FaceTiming with Erin. She basically spent the whole time talking to him and kissing the screen. It was adorable. I think it really set in for both of us that she’s realizing when we aren’t around and she is actually missing us.

IMG_5808

I feel like I’m always stuck in this awkward spot where I want her to stay a baby as long as possible and I can’t wait to see what she’ll do next. Why is time going by so fast!?

4 thoughts on “ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. kierrynh says:

    Her climbing under things is her learning spatial awareness which is super important. My daughter is doing it as well. Try getting her a crawling tunnel which is something fun and harmless for her to crawl through and hide in.

Leave a Reply

