feels good to be home

IMG_6195

There is something about stepping foot in San Diego that makes my heart whole. I could feel it as I walked across the SkyBridge as we made our way to an uber. I just love it here. I was born in San Diego but really don’t have any real memories of it (I was like 4 when I moved away). I’ve just seen pictures of me as a baby/toddler. I came back to visit when I was in sixth grade and then moved to SD after I graduated high school. I would for sure move back here if it wasn’t so dang expensive.

baby audrey

baby audrey

Anyway, there is a big education conference in San Diego this week so Palmer and I decided to tag along with Erin and play in the city while he works all day. The conference is downtown at the convention center so we are staying at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. It’s BEAUTIFUL! I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better location. It’s like a 5 min walk to everything.

IMG_6209

IMG_6202

our view

One of my favorite places growing up was Seaport Village. Every time we come to SD, we spend a little time walking around and looking at the shops. It’s so cute and nothing beats sitting under those big shady trees and feeling the cool breeze hit your face. Well, it’s been like balls hot right now so it’s been limited on the breeziness…

IMG_6230

P and I went on a lot of adventures since we arrived yesterday. First stop: Seaport Village. We met up with my little brother on his day off and just hung out for a couple of hours. He told me all about the drama of being an assistant football coach and played with Palmer. Considering our relationship a couple of years ago, it was so nice to just relax and get to know more about his adult self. Sometimes I forget how old he is! He’s like a full-on adult. We parted ways and I spent the rest of the night trying to sleep. I’m soooo tired!!! P fell asleep in my arms and ended up sleeping on the bed with us. Erin and I were both terrified that we were going to roll over on her so we definitely didn’t get a great night sleep.

IMG_6201

Today we started by checking out the Children’s Park, which was really just a very sad urban playground with a lot of concrete, 2 swings and this jungle gym thing (that was way too advanced for my little peanut). She really wanted to play with the other boys but yeah, she’s just a little too small. After that we walked back over to Seaport Village for a little lunch with Erin and took a little ride on the carousel. She LOVED the carousel. We picked one of the white horses so it went up and down. She was talking and clapping during the ride. It was adorable.

IMG_6216 IMG_6217

We finished up our evening with a quick walk to Ghirardelli’s for my favorite: warm brownie sundae. Palmer was very upset that she didn’t get any so I tried to share some of the whipped cream with her. Clearly that wasn’t enough because she was basically screaming the entire time. I scarfed down my sundae and we took off again.

IMG_6238

She’s been super snuggly lately, which is super cute. The last two nights she has snuggled into my arms to sleep. I just can’t even. It’s like the cutest thing in the world. She just crawls up to me and puts her little head on me. I’m just loving seeing her personality come out more and more every day.

PS – Don’t mind the duck face below. It’s late. I’m tired. And I’m embracing my inner 2004 self.

IMG_6245

this is what exhaustion looks like….

IMG_6240

7 thoughts on “feels good to be home

  1. Nicole says:

    Visiting San Diego is a bucket list item of mine… πŸ™‚ I’m a New England girl, and I’ve only been to California once (well, if a layover at LAX even counts). πŸ˜‰ Someday I hope to visit the West coast… It sounds so wonderful!!
    P.S. Your little cupcake is too adorable!!
    And we ladies have to make a good duck face every once in awhile! πŸ™‚ I think it’s a cute picture.

Leave a Reply

