lions and tigers and HIPPOS, OH MY!

IMG_6289

This has been a post in progress as I started it Friday and haven’t been able to get to it until today. Friday was a looooooong day. We tackled the San Diego Zoo. I love going to the zoo. It’s so much fun. The Phoenix Zoo has a lot to offer but the San Diego Zoo is like a whole different beast. There is so much to see and so many people to navigate through. I’m not really a huge fan of people so dealing with these crazies is my least favorite thing.

IMG_6256 IMG_6250

The last time we were in San Diego, we came to the zoo. I think P was maybe 6 months. I don’t think she was really only enough to really enjoy all the animals. Well, today was slightly better. There were definitely some exhibits that she seemed more interested in… or maybe it had better leaves and rocks that she could stick in her mouth.

IMG_6258 IMG_6259

My must sees at the San Diego Zoo: elephants, polar bears, orangutans and the hippos. The best part of the zoo is that they have a baby care area (our first stop when we got there). It has a nice little nursing area and changing table. It only has space for one person but it’s private and I didn’t have to worry about someone seeing me nursing so that was good.

IMG_6247 IMG_6285

I love the elephants and the SDZ has the coolest area where they do a little care session demo. Unfortunately, we got there as it was already crowded/only space in the sun so we found a spot a little further back. We couldn’t really see the main elephant but there was a cute African elephant in the cage in front of us and she stuck her trunk out of the hole a couple of times. P was only engaged for a couple of minutes so we didn’t stay for the whole thing and just made our way on to the next area.

IMG_6266 IMG_6265

By far the cutest part of the day was watching the hippos, or hippo (Otis) in this case, because he was in the water and getting sprayed with a hose – I missed the explanation of why they were doing this but he loved it. Anyway, normally there are a ton of people crowding the area but this time there wasn’t and I was able to have Palmer stand at the glass. She was so excited and kept dancing and smiling as she looked at this massive animal show off his teethies.

The the end of the day, I was exhausted. I feel like we walked like 50 miles. I thought that would be enough to send P to sleep early… nope. 10pm. Aghhhhh

IMG_6287

this silly gorilla was on his back playing with is feet

IMG_6277

One thought on “lions and tigers and HIPPOS, OH MY!

Leave a Reply

