Weekend Roundup – Thanksgiving Edition

So today I was thinking… what did I do this weekend??? I honestly couldn’t remember. I suddenly realized I was basically in a food coma all week/weekend and we actually did a lot!

IMG_7282

snuggles

Erin took off most of last week so we spent Tuesday-Sunday together… weird. It was nice to have him home and help take care of the little one, especially with all the Thanksgiving baking.

I can’t really remember everything that happened early in the week but I think Tuesday we went grocery shopping because we absolutely didn’t want to go to a store the day before Thanksgiving.

IMG_7284

IMG_7289

Wednesday was baking day. I made 5 pies: 2 pumpkin, 1 pumpkin bourbon with bourbon whipped cream and 2 turtle pies. Seriously, turtle pies are the most delicious, easiest thing to make. If you ever have a pot luck or some occasion where you need to make something that everyone will go gaga over… bring this pie. I’ll put the recipe below. Just pair with your favorite homemade or store-bought pie crust.

IMG_7304

IMG_7302

Thanksgiving was a true test of stomach stretchiness. We started out in the morning at the tennis court for the annual tennis tournament. It’s pretty cool because the winner, runner up and last place get a prize. Last place is always the best prize. Erin and I took turns playing, with one of us sitting out with P. Worst and best part? We took last place. The prize was a bag of Hershey Kisses. Yum!

IMG_7294

We got ready and headed out to our first Thanksgiving dinner. It was pretty delicious. We called it “meatsgiving” because there was so many different types of meat. There was a corned beef, smoked turkey, roasted turkey and grilled lamb. Delicious.

IMG_7300

We then went to Erin’s parents house for our second Thanksgiving dinner where there was a lot more delicious food. I love green bean casserole and I ate up a ton when I was there. Palmer got the chance to meet Nami, her little third cousin (I think that’s right). She was born early October and we hadn’t had the chance to meet her yet. Palmer gave her lots of kisses and hugs.

 

IMG_7398

We stayed in most of Black Friday. Erin put up all the Christmas lights. We didn’t do any shopping. We ran over to Costco, Safeway and Home Depot later in the day to grab some things but no Christmas shopping.
IMG_7315

Saturday was a big football day. Palmer’s godparents (and our BCFFL) are big Michigan fans so we went over to watch the Michigan v. Ohio State game. Unfortunately they didn’t win but the party had Chick-fil-A Chick-n-Minis and a ton of Chick-fil-A sauce so it was all good. Palmer got to visit with her little friend Reagan. Lots of kisses. We stayed to watch more college football and then all went on a walk. Erin threw a pinecone at me (as a joke) but it busted me in the nose. Thanks. We finished up the night with ASU CHOKING in the second half to lose to Cal. Just an all over bummer in college football…. but the chick-n-minis were delicious.

IMG_7327

We wrapped up the week with a lazy Sunday. So lazy. We didn’t really do anything until we had to leave to watch Walking Dead. I made a Deviled Egg Potato Salad to bring. Another great potluck meal. Walking Dead was kind of a bust… lame filler episode. Night ended with the Patriots-Broncos game. OMG. I can’t event believe the Broncos were able to win in OT. Lots of Sun Devil love to Brock Osweiler.

IMG_7286

Oh yeah, if you want that delicious pie recipe, here it is:

PS – I should have actually taken a photo of a slice so you could see how incredible it looks but truthfully, this pie doesn’t last more than a minute on my plate. #sorrynotsorry

  1. Make your pie crust – homemade or store bought. It just needs to be fully baked. I love Martha Stewart’s Pate Brisee recipe.
  2. Toast cup of pecans on baking sheet in 400 degree oven for 6 minutes
  3. Make caramel sauce. Sally’s Baking Addiction’s Salted Caramel is my go-to recipe with a small tweak. Instead of adding the salt, I add a teaspoon or so of vanilla. I’m serious, this stuff is incredible.
  4. Add caramel and toasted pecans in large bowl and mix until they are one delicious, gooey mix.
  5. Pour caramel-pecan mixture into pie crust.
  6. Top with chocolate ganache.
    1. The easiest way (for me) to make ganache is to heat 1 cup heavy whipping cream on the stove top in a small pot until it begins to boil.
    2. In a separate bowl, add 8 oz of semisweet chocolate. Don’t use chips… just buy a couple of Ghirardelli Baking Bars (I like the 60% cacao) next time you are at Target. They are usually on sale and a staple in my house.
    3. Once the cream is gently boiling, add it to the bowl of baking bar pieces. Mix using a silicone spatula until smooth and shiny.
    4. I usually add like a teaspoon of sugar and a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla once the chocolate comes together to give it a little extra oomph.
  7. Pour chocolate ganache top of the caramel-pecan mixture and smooth out using spatula
  8. Let it chill in the refrigerator for a couple hours. When you are ready to eat it, let it sit out for like 20 minutes so the caramel is a little gooey.
2 thoughts on “Weekend Roundup – Thanksgiving Edition

  1. Mary Mack says:

    Sounds scrumious I usually make my own crust with 3/4 butter 3 oz. cream cheese and 2 cups flour, I pat in with my hands. thanks.

Leave a Reply

