Oh Christmas Tree

Arizona winters are the complete opposite of what I grew up with in the PNW. The most obvious one?? Temperatures above 75 degrees in December… WHAT?! I know… insanity. We are quickly feeling the drop to winter. It’s been in the 40s and 50s all week (with freeze warnings overnight) so it’s safe to say that we are spending a lot of time indoors.

It always takes a long time to really set in that it’s Christmas time. One of the biggest things that gets me in the holiday spirit is getting our Christmas tree. For years we have gone up north to chop down our own tree, and while that’s fun, I’ve missed the gorgeous shape of a Christmas tree farm tree from the Northwest.

IMG_7447

Thankfully Costco understands and they ship gorgeous, perfectly shaped trees down from Oregon so that us Zonies can enjoy a real perfectly-shaped tree for Christmas. Plus it’s ridiculously cheap and the guys will pull out a ton of trees to guarantee you get the best one for your space.

This year we were going for tall and skinny to fit a little corner in our house. I’m in love. I think it’s the best looking tree we’ve ever had.

IMG_7460

2015

It’s always Erin’s job to get it placed and then I decorate. This year we had to be strategic when placing everything because Palmer can reach errrrything. There is a good three feet on the bottom of just lights, no ornaments.

Then we had to narrow down a selection of about a million ornaments that Erin and I have collected from birth until now and put those on the tree. Erin has his favorites that need to make their appearance, like Slam Dunk Santa, turtle in a shell and at least one Bart Simpson. I have a million pig figurines that I like to put up there.

IMG_7467

We added one new ornament this year for Palmer… a little crown.

IMG_7463

We switched things up this year with colored lights and I love them. So does Palmer. Plus, now that she knows how to rip wrapping paper, I have to hide all the gifts. Ahh… I can’t believe it!!! 10 more days!!!

Christmas trees of years past:

IMG_2198

2011

IMG_2954

2014

7 thoughts on “Oh Christmas Tree

  1. playinghousewi says:

    LOVE your tree this year! What can’t Costco do? Also, Christmas trees and toddlers… Oy. I can’t imagine. Good luck! Let me know how it works. We don’t celebrate, so no Xmas tree here, but I think about it. Like, how does one keep a Christmas tree standing or presents in plain sight or lights on said tree with a toddler..

    • justaudrey says:

      Ahh thanks!! Luckily she’s only gone over there a couple times and just pokes the tree. She would rather get into the cabinets and pull out all the tupperware.

      I’m sure next year will be much harder keeping her away from the presents. I have built up a fortress around gift bags because I know she will get all up in that tissue.

  2. HappyFamily says:

    Love the idea of cutting down our own tree. We have a similar issue in Fl regarding no trees to cut down and warm weather. We saw the trees at Costco and they looked great. Might have to try one next year. Merry Christmas

  3. OldCountryGirl says:

    Very nice post and a very pretty tree this year. We are kind of in the opposite situation, moved from Florida to Maine and I have to say that the pick for a tree has been very easy this year. I could not believe how easy it has been to find a perfect tree up here. They almost seem unreal … haha! Have a Merry Christas!

Leave a Reply

