Weekend Roundup – Sick Kid

So after last week’s low grade fever, we’ve finally caught the sickness. Palmer woke up Friday with a terrible cough. She’s never had one before so of course a little bit of panic set in as I contemplated going to the doctor. After going back and forth on it, I sucked it up and went in.

I know it’s not supposed to be a big deal but I can’t help but feel like a total n00b when I go in when she has even the tiniest bit of a cold. I need to keep reminding myself that I haven’t been a mom for 30 years… I’ve been a mom for a year. I don’t know everything about this job yet.

IMG_7688

why won’t this sock come off???!!!

So I took her in, they checked her out and luckily, everything looked great exam-wise. Lungs clear, ears clear, everything all good. It’s one of those “it sounds worse than it is” but I was told to watch for labored breathing or if things got worse because pneumonia is common in toddlers. *Remember not to panic… remember not to panic* The doctor said all of the other symptoms we had been experiencing earlier that week (fever, cranky, clingy) were most likely just teething related.

She ended up getting a runny nose later that day and maybe a low grade fever. So it’s basically a cold. I can handle a normal cold. The cough though… breaks my heart. I’ve been running the humidifier every night and I hope that she’s over it by Christmas. A sick baby on Christmas would be a bummer.

So yeah, back to this weekend. We didn’t do much. I wasn’t feeling well either this week so the things we had planned, we had to bail on. We did manage to go over to my in-laws house for a little cookie making. I always make my family’s cream wafer cookies. These are seriously the best cookie in the entire world. It’s made up of primarily butter, butter and more butter so you know it’s delicious. I’ll include the recipe below. It’s super easy but a little time consuming. Worth it though.

These cookies are super important to my family because my grandmother used to make them when my mom was young. My grandma passed away when my mom was a kid so having never met her, these cookies help me to feel connected in some way. Plus, did I mention they are delicious?

IMG_7711

Cream Wafer Cookies

Cookies:
1 cup softened butter
1/3 cup whipping cream
2 cups all purpose flour
sugar to top

Creamy Butter Filling:
1/4 cup softened butter3/4 cup confectioners sugar
1 tsp vanilla

  1. Measure flour by dipping.
  2. Mix butter, cream and flour in large mixer or in large bowl. Chill 1 hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 375.
  4. Roll dough 1/8″ thick on lightly floured board.
  5. Using a shot glass, or small (1.5″) circular cookie cutter, cut out cookies and transfer to parchment-lined baking sheet.
  6. Prick tops using a fork four times (making a square of 16 pricks) and sprinkle with sugar.
  7. Bake 7-10 minutes or until slightly puffy and lightly golden. Then let cool on baking rack.
  8. Once cooled, sandwich two cookies together with creamy butter filling. To make filling, mix butter, confectioners sugar and vanilla. Tint with your favorite holiday food color!

I can’t believe it’s Christmas week!! I can’t wait!!

One thought on “Weekend Roundup – Sick Kid

Leave a Reply

