Baby #2 – Pink or Blue Prediction

In exactly a week, we (fingers crossed) will be able to find out the sex of our little baby!! I wanted to test out some “gender prediction tests” to see how right they really are for this pregnancy. We did this with Palmer too so it was interesting looking back to see how right any of these were. Out of the 13 tests we did last time, it leaned girl so “technically” it was right but so many of them were wrong. Our results are below… have you tried any of these and have they ever been right?

#1: History of Parent’s Kids

So the story goes that that you can find out the sex of the baby by going off your parent’s kids in order. Erin has only one other brother. My siblings are all boys so obviously that’s a boy. This was totally wrong (obviously) with Palmer so I’m not sure how much faith I put into this “test”.

Prediction: BOY

#2 Moodiness

If you are super grouchy through the pregnancy, you are probably having a girl as you have an increase of hormones. If you’re happier, it’s a boy. I was a monster for the first 10 weeks; however, since then I have been actually pretty pleasant. Since the extreme nature of the first 10 weeks, I’ll lean girl on this one but I think it’s a pretty fair split.

Prediction: GIRL

#3 Chinese Gender Prediction

The Chinese Gender Prediction Chart is supposed to be super accurate (like 90%). It’s based on how old the mother is at conception and month conceived. It really depends on which one you are checking. I did the Baby Center Chinese Gender Predictor, which said boy. I also did two other Chinese Sex Predictors (Chinese Fortune Calendar and Chinese Gender Chart) and both of those said girl.

Prediction: GIRL

#4 Sleeping Styles

If a woman sleeps on her left side, she’s probably having a boy. If the right side is more comfortable, it’s a girl. I’ve been sleeping on my left side this entire pregnancy. I’m not sure if it’s because that’s where the monitor faces but I am definitely favoring the left.

Prediction: BOY

#5 Daddy Weight Gain

The Old Wives tale goes if the dad-to-be gains weight, it’s a girl. If he remains the same, it’s a boy. I checked in with Erin and asked, have you gained weight with this pregnancy? Erin said… I don’t want to talk about it. Soooooo……

Prediction: GIRL

#6 Baby’s Heart Rate

If the baby’s heart rate is above 140 bpm, it’s a girl. Below 140, it’s a boy! The two ultrasound appointments we had were 160 and then 155.

Prediction: GIRL

#7 Mayan Prediction

The Mayans believed that you used the mother’s age at conception and the year of conception. If the result is even, it’s a girl; an odd number would mean it’s a boy. I’m 30 and the year of conception was 2015 so that’s odd.

Prediction: BOY

#8 Baking Soda Test

For this science experiment, you put a tablespoon of baking soda in a cup. Add in FMU and mix it in. If it fizzes up like a beer, it’s a boy. If it stays still, it’s a girl. This is perhaps the grossest of all the tests. I usually don’t mess around with the pee tests (there are soooo many!!!!) but this one seemed like the least offensive and I did it with P (it was wrong) so I figured I would try it again. No fizzle.

Prediction: GIRL

#9 Food Cravings

This one is pretty simple, people say if you crave salty food, you’re having a boy. If you crave sweets, it’s a girl. I haven’t really figured out what I’ve been craving more since I’ve been craving equal parts sweet and salty.

Prediction: DRAW

#10 Left Eye Test

The strangest Old Wives Tale but was right with Palmer. In order to do this, you pull down the skin under your left eye. If you see a “V” or branches in the white area, it’s a girl. I was going to do this last night but I was sooo tired that I decided it wasn’t a good time to decide if my eyes were just bloodshot or if there was really a letter down there. I tried again this morning after a good night’s sleep and sure enough, there was a little “v” down there. Full disclosure, I tried this earlier in the pregnancy (around 12 weeks) and no v was present so this may be a new v or a tired mom of a teething toddler v.  Either way…

Prediction: GIRL

#11 Necklace Over Hand

I feel like this is as right as one of those fortune tellers you make in grade school. So you take a necklace with some type of pendant and dip it three times between the “L” of your thumb and index finger. Then hold the pendant over the palm of your left hand. If it swings back and forth, it’s a boy. If it swings in a circle, it’s a girl. This time it swung back and forth.

Prediction: BOY

#12 Wedding Ring Test

Tie a string to your wedding ring and hold it above your belly. The way you measure is different on this one. If it rocks back and forth, it’s a girl. If it goes in circles, it’s a boy. Just like my last pregnancy, it rocked back and forth.

Prediction: GIRL

#13 Sibling Hairline Test

So last year I splurged on a ridiculous $40 Intelligender test the last time and it was wrong so I decided to skip it. Plus, now that we are having our second, we can try this hairline test! So to do this test, it’s super easy. You just look at the hairline of your first born (or youngest child). If the hairline is straight across, it will be the same sex. If the hairline comes to a “V”, it’s the opposite sex. Thank goodness Palmer’s hair is finally coming in or we would never be able to figure this one out. lol At first glance, it looks like Palmer’s hairline is straight across BUT there is a fine area that hasn’t quite grown in just under what seems like her hairline and that comes to a little “v” so because of that, I’m going to have to lean blue.

Prediction: BOY

Final Tally: 

Boy: 5

Girl: 7 – WINNER!

Still super close this time. These gender prediction tests are kind of fun to do but it’s hard to put a lot of faith into them since they have as good of a chance of predicting anything as just flipping a coin.

Buuuuuutttttt we will definitely find out next week at our ultrasound. No crossed legs!! No really, have I told you that I can’t wait until next week? Yeah, totally. I’m so freaking excited.

3 thoughts on “Baby #2 – Pink or Blue Prediction

  1. Mary Mack says:

    Happy all going good. So good to see you folks and to see Palmer again, so Cute
    My! and Walking, my time does fly. Boy or Girl is fine Blessings and Love Aunt Mary

    • justaudrey says:

      We will have to FaceTime next time you’re with Jenny! I was bummed we weren’t able to see her while you guys were out here. It was so nice to see you. I can’t wait until P can fit in her new shirt/dress!

Leave a Reply

