Let’s Talk… potty training???

First… let’s take the largest deep breath ever. And exhale…

FullSizeRender

Now that breathing is out of the way, let me tell you why I’m even considering venturing down this road with 3 months to go until new baby comes.

  1. Well, the timing is definitely part of it. We have about 3 months until our new bundle of joy enters our life. In an ideal world, I would like only one child in diapers but I wouldn’t rush it if I didn’t think P was ready, which leads us into…
  2. She’s definitely showing some signs of readiness like pulling at her dirty diaper, going longer between dirty diapers (holding it), waking up dry from naps and telling us when she’s about to go/dirty.
  3. She is interested in everyone going to the potty. She points, she imitates.

Palmer received a potty book for Easter from her grandma and she LOVES reading it. She gets super excited at the part where the baby goes to the bathroom and they all shout Hooray. She even claps as to congratulate the baby on it’s “tinkle, tinkle, toot”.

We had originally discussed the idea of potty training with our pediatrician at our 18 month appointment and really, it seemed like maybe we were rushing into things. I figured we would gradually introduce the potty stuff and then really try after new baby arrived so we didn’t have to worry about any regression situations coming up. So I bought a super cheap potty from Target (Summer Infant Lil Loo Potty) and we talk about the potty and she sits on it. We’ve even put her in some Pull Ups one afternoon just so she can have the feel of pulling up and down underwear.

It wasn’t until a couple days ago that it really struck me that maybe it was time. She walked up to me, looked me straight in the face and said, “Poop”. I asked her if she had poop in her diaper and she said no. She said it again, “poop”. I checked her and there was nothing in there so I thought maybe she was just being weird. Literally minutes later I get this nasty whiff of stank. Poop, there it is. She was telling me and I unintentionally dismissed her thinking I didn’t understand what she was saying.

My search began shortly after that moment. Luckily, I was looking in a forum and someone else had a similar situation with their 19-mo-old and one of the ladies was going on about the 3-day potty training system. It’s a very focused program where you are completely committed to potty training and your toddler, nothing else. It helps them to identify when they need to go and express that versus being more parent-led. I’m all for Palmer being independent so I’m interested to get started relatively soon and I plan on updating about our progress. Just trying to find a week that we have nothing planned so there are no interruptions, especially if it takes her over 4 or more days. I’m sure there will be many mistakes on my end but the most important thing is focus and consistency.

I have a feeling that Minnie and Sophia the First undies are going to be the new “shoes” in Palmer’s world pretty soon.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk… potty training???

  1. sparklemehappy says:

    You were potty trained just before you were 2, so this isn’t such a surprise. Her hints are good. Take advantage of it and it makes it easier. Yay big girl panties, it’s a big deal especially when she picks them out. It’s like a reward. 🚽

Leave a Reply

