28 weeks – baby #2

So many things this week. For starters, for a short week… it felt like forever. I plan on doing a MDW recap but obviously haven’t gotten to it yet. Expect that in another year of so lol Also, THIRD TRIMESTER!!

Anyways, so Erin had a work trip this week and was out from Tuesday-Thursday. It’s been really hot this week… like blistering hot. We’ve been blessed with high 90s for the past several months so the sudden 103+ degree weather (it’s supposed to be 115+ this weekend) that decided to pop up completely shocked my system. I’ve been drinking water like what I thought was a madwoman but apparently not. I could tell that I was a little dehydrated on Tuesday. We had a super active weekend so I figured that had something to do with it. Without getting lost into a million details, I started feeling some mild cramping Tuesday afternoon… literally right after I hung up with Erin before his second flight took off. I thought, well… I’m thirsty so lets tackle that first. I started hydrating and decided to move around, lay down and see if the sensation eventually went away. Unfortunately it did not. I walked around the house, still there. Went to the bathroom, still there. At this point, straight panic set in.

As my heart raced, I feverishly typed on my computer for what could be happening. These felt different than the normal BH I had been experiencing during walks. It reminded me of the day I had Palmer so I was terrified. After texting back and forth with a friend, I decided to call my doctors office. I continued to drink water as I still felt super dehydrated and hoped it would just go away. My OB called back and tried to calm me down. She recommended I take some ibuprofen, take a bath, hydrate and rest. She told me to call my ILs to see if they could come over and watch Palmer while I focus on making sure the cramping went away. Thankfully they were able to come over and watch her before we put her to bed. I should note that Palmer was absolutely amazing this week and was totally chill through this whole thing. She was napping through most of it but when she was awake, she just hung out with me and watched Mickey Mouse. I’m also grateful for Disney channel and that mouse… she loves him so much. I did as my OB recommended and the sensation started to subside. I felt it a couple more times throughout the night but it didn’t last and usually was just from walking around. My OB said she gets calls like this all the time and 99% of the time it’s from dehydration. I felt silly for calling but glad I did. I spent the next two days resting as much as possible and I definitely feel better now because of it.

IMG_0073

As if that wasn’t enough excitement for one week, it was glucose test week!! I failed my 1 hr with Palmer by 8 points so I was determined to give it my best shot and not be a carboholic and sugarholic this week leading up to my test. I bought salads and healthy seed bread and ate lots of eggs. Even when I was indulging in a craving, I tried to make better choices. Like last night when I wanted a McDonald’s cheeseburger sooo bad, I went to In-n-Out and got it protein style! I took the test this morning and I’m sorry but I don’t know why everyone complains about the drink. I didn’t mind it. I mean, it’s a little syrupy but fruit punch is delicious. The blood draw hurt a little more than normal but it was fine. I seriously, seriously hope I pass this time and don’t have to do the 3 hr again. I don’t get the results until Monday so it will be a long weekend just not knowing. Oh well, ignorance is bliss. My doctor seemed pretty confident that I wouldn’t have an issue with it but you never know. Will definitely share results next week!! The baby was really feeling the drink at the appointment. She kept kicking the fetal doppler as my OB tried to listen to the heartbeat. Crazy little jelly bean.

Now for the update…

How far along: 28 weeks

Baby is the size of a: roller blade

Symptoms: More hair loss, dehydration, increased heart rate, exhaustion

Total weight gain: Officially hit my PPW based off doctor office scale so I’ve gained back the 10 or so lbs I lost during the first trimester! I’d like to thank my biggest supporters, bread and sugar, for helping me to this milestone.

Maternity clothes: I went MDW shopping craaaaaaazy. Nothing is actually maternity clothes but is totally stretchy and will work during and post-pregnancy. I bought 4 shirts from Target; a tunic, bra and ribbed tank dress from H&M; and two dresses from Nordstrom Rack. Surprisingly… all these clothes together totally didn’t cost that much. I saved a huge amount so that makes up for all the spending.

Stretch marks: Nothing yet – holding out hope that I can remain stretch mark ree

Sleep: The pregnancy pillow definitely helps but I wake up about a million times a night to pee. This was NOT an issue I had with Palmer so it’s certainly an adjustment.

Best moment of this week: Lots of time spent with friends/family

Miss anything: Deli meat. I seriously want Port of Subs soooooooo bad.

Movement: So active! Always kicking and shifting.

Food cravings: Bread.

Anything making you queasy or sick: No

Have you started to show yet: For sure

Sex: Girly

Labor signs: No…. clearly just extreme dehydration.

Belly button in or out: Sort of innish… I give it another month

Wedding rings on or off: On! I just checked my weekly update from P and at this point, I had to remove my engagement ring so I’m super excited that I’m still doing so well at this point.

Happy or moody most of the time:  Emotional/Stressed

Looking forward to: Getting my test results Monday and getting my hair done next week!! Look at that terrible regrowth! Embarrassing.

Bump Shot(s):

IMG_0075

2 thoughts on “28 weeks – baby #2

Leave a Reply

