Wubba-Nub Addiction

IMG_9230

Hi I’m Palmer and I’m addicted to my Wubba-Nub.

Hi Palmer!

For real y’all… this wubba obsession has gone too far and we have clearly been too weak to just take it away. I would ideally like to rid Palmer of the wubba before new baby arrives but I’m learning I need to prioritize my current list of goals for her. My ideal hit list is:

  1. 3 (or so) Day Potty Training
  2. Wubba Removal
  3. Toddler Bed Transition

IMG_0056

We are currently down to one wubba: the penguin. The rest are around but have had the tips chopped off due to her biting through them. She will not use them because of that reason so that’s a bonus. Penguin has now become a huge attachment for her. When I get her out of her crib in the morning, she sits there kissing and hugging wubba for an extended amount of time. She even asks us to give wubba kisses. We make her say bye to wubba and she only gets him during nap times (and bedtime). She loves him. I don’t want to just take away something she loves so much.

IMG_0402

During her ear infection last week, she was glued to wubba. That thing didn’t come out of her mouth for a second. I tried switching out the penguin for one of the chopped versions (to allow her to feel comfortable but not sucking on wubba) but it didn’t work. Occasionally, if wubba is near the edge of the crib, she will reach in and retrieve him during the day so she can have him while she’s playing. I usually take it away from her when I notice and that’s it.

Our pediatrician had recommended that we just remove wubba for good and let her figure out how to soothe herself without that being an option. As much as I agree with that method, I also have been pretty passive. What my baby wants, my baby gets. Well.. sometimes.

Since potty training has been higher on my priority list, we were a little lax on the transition from removing during day use to only napping, and then eventually to nothing. I’m afraid if we don’t make this transition soon, she’ll be swiping new baby’s wubbas and all hell will break loose. She’ll be using a wubba nub at her high school graduation. Noo!

IMG_0413

We finally snapped Saturday and decided we weren’t going to be wimps anymore. The wubba is going away. It takes a lot longer for her to get to sleep but we are getting there. We haven’t caved yet (we’ve had moments of weakness where we almost broke down) so that’s always a good thing. Trying to keep my eye on the prize!! I’m hoping to have 5 or so weeks wubba free before new baby shows up with new wubbas in tow. Terrifying.

I don’t want to overwhelm her with too many changes all at once. New baby, potty training, wubba removal, new bed… I know there will be some regressions and I’m expecting that but jeez… I just hope we can easily rebound. Am I taking on too much with less than a couple months before this new baby comes?

IMG_9753

4 thoughts on “Wubba-Nub Addiction

  1. Emily Bresin says:

    Just curious, how old is your daughter? I have a 13-month-old with a serious pacifier problem! She loves them so much! She uses them in the car and while falling asleep and occasionally when she gets upset during the day. They give her so much comfort, I really don’t want to take that away from her. It’s going to be hard and I am not ready for that battle.

    • justaudrey says:

      She’s 20 months. It’s soooo hard but I think the easiest method is the remove and don’t give in. Hide all the pacis so there are no options anymore. She asks for it before naps or in the car and we just try and redirect her. The cries are intense but getting rid of it earlier is probably easier! Good luck!! ❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

