Play Date

Palmer has been a little ball of loving energy lately. Sometimes I get worried that I won’t be able to keep up with her while also managing a newborn. I guess you figure it out somehow. I still have a lot of nesting energy right now but it is very short-lived. I figure I get one opportunity to get out of the house and do whatever. Yesterday’s opportunity was a fun play date at The Orchard PHX.

The Orchard PHX is this little “compound” of sorts with 2 restaurants, an ice cream shop, boutique and splash pad. The outside is super nice with misters all around. The food is delicious so that’s an obvious draw to come hang out here, and the splash pad is perfect for Palmer.

IMG_0698-1

We started at Luci’s, a cute little boutique/restaurant, and had breakfast. I must have had serious pregnancy brain because out of an entire menu of delicious, pregnancy-friendly options, I picked the Corned Beef Benedict. That’s right… give me the menu item with all the things I’m “not supposed to eat” like runny eggs, hollandaise sauce, and corned beef (which I guess is fine because it’s warmed up but I guess there is still a concern due to sodium and nitrates.. whatever). The ingredients and style of cooking never crossed my mind. It sounded delicious. I ordered it. I destroyed the entire plate.

During brunch, Palmer was being a mad woman. I didn’t have her in a high chair or booster seat (problem #1) so she was running all around the long booth-type bench and bothering the mature women sitting nearby. At one point, one of the ladies stopped her and said, “Palmer…. Be quiet”. I think she was partially joking but it did catch me off guard. I mean, I was trying to control her but clearly not doing a great job. There is only so much you can do with an active 20-month old.

Afterwards, I waddled outside to enjoy the splash pad. There weren’t too many kids outside, which was nice because it means less people for Palmer to push around. She did really well though. This was the first time she’s actually gotten super wet from the splash pad as it caught her by surprise a couple of times. I was getting frustrated as she kept going away from the splash pad and her poor shoeless feet ran across the hot ground. She kept saying “hot” but couldn’t recognize that it was her own doing. Do you know what it looks like to see an 8 month, super sweaty, pregnant woman trying to chase after her 20-mo-old when it’s 104 outside? Not cute.

IMG_6424IMG_6418

IMG_6414

making a run for it

Oh and one more thing… I knew we needed to get Palmer a new bathing suit soon but I didn’t realize how soon. Before I put it on her, I saw the tag said 12 mo (SO not her size). I love the suit because it snaps on the bottom and I have yet to find another one like it so I haven’t been in a huge rush to buy another but omg… it’s so small that my poor daughter was nip slipping all over the place. Needless to say, I’m buying a new bathing suit for her today.

IMG_8583

After about 30 or so minutes, we started to truly overheat so it was time to go. Palmer was also due for her nap so I knew I only had a short window before all hell broke loose. We quickly packed up and headed out. Palmer was asleep in less than 5 minutes. Hallelujah.

IMG_6430

cutest friends ever.

Leave a Reply

