34 weeks – baby #2

This is a busy week for us! We started off with family photos Monday morning (super excited to share those as soon as I get my gallery next week).

I was supposed to go in for my check-up on Tuesday and literally as I was getting everything ready to leave, the power went out. Ugh. It wouldn’t be AS big of a deal if it wasn’t a high of 108 today but not knowing how long it would be out, I couldn’t leave my dog in the house with no AC/no fans/no water. I tried getting him some water and calling my OB’s office to see if it was possible to reschedule later and explain the situation. I was technically stuck inside. The garage door opener wasn’t working (I know I could manually open it but I wasn’t sure how heavy it was going to be or if it would be safe for me to do on my own). The receptionist wasn’t super nice as I explained my predicament. Unfortunately there wasn’t any availability for later in the day so we had to reschedule to Wednesday. Oh… and since I was cancelling last minute, I would need to pay a $35 no show/cancellation fee. Thanks. The kicker? The power was restored at 9am, 15 minutes after my scheduled appointment. I probably could have just arrived late if I got everything ready for Tyson and got assistance with the garage door but I thought it was the fair thing to do by calling early. So freaking annoying. One angry pregnant lady lol

So anyways, my appointment was today. I was NOT charged the fee. My OB actually said yesterday was crazy and it was better that I came today. I explained everything that happened and she totally understood, which made me feel better. She spent a lot of time with me today as I have been having a lot of discomfort and pain. She asked if I wanted her to check my cervix for some peace of mind and I agreed (even though I hate the process). Completely closed and super thick so all good news. It was certainly reassuring for me. While we were there, she did my strep b (GBS) test. I’m not sure why people get all hung up on the test since it isn’t that invasive and your doctor SHOULD walk you through what they are going to do next. I’m hoping to get my results back in the next couple days and that they are negative so I won’t have to worry about the extra IV on the day of but it will be fine either way. It’s found in 25% of all healthy women so it’s not uncommon, plus doctors are well equipped to handle it. I was negative last time so I’m hoping for the same result.

Tomorrow we are celebrating Erin’s 30th birthday early with a concert date. We are going to see Dashboard Confessional and Taking Back Sunday. Hello early 2000s!! We even got the VIP passes, which includes a private Dashboard show. We are both totally geeking out over the whole thing. Super excited to spend an evening out with Erin!!

Now for the update:

How far along: 34 weeks

Baby is the size of a: Basketball Hoop

Symptoms: Little patience, mild contractions due to dehydration, short-lived energy

Total weight gain: I must have been binging like crazy because it looked like I was up 7 lbs today. Dang. I’m feeling super bloated and started swelling in my hands so I’m wondering if that had anything to do with it!

Maternity clothes: I got in a special nursing robe for my hospital bag.

Stretch marks: None yet

Sleep: Meh.

Best moment of this week: Hard to pick just one!! This week has been pretty awesome for excitement! Worst moment was the power outage.

Miss anything: Super unhealthy drinks… like Code Red Mountain Dew.

Movement: All the time!!

Food cravings: Not really anything in particular.

Anything making you queasy or sick: No

Have you started to show yet: Yep!

Sex: Girl

Labor signs: No.

Belly button in or out: In

Wedding rings on or off: Wedding band is still on but I had to remove my engagement ring late Monday due to swelling in my hands.

Happy or moody most of the time: A little bit of both

Looking forward to: Maternity photos (that I won) next week and potty training Palmer!

Bump Shot(s):

IMG_0801

Leave a Reply

