What’s In My Hospital Bag (+ $75 Pink Blush Giveaway)

IMG_6467

Palmer didn’t want to show her teeth… it’s probably because she was munching on some blueberries lol

Okay guys… we’re getting there. With literally 4 weeks, 1 day left until my scheduled c-section, it’s time to get serious about what I’m packing. I wish I could find my book from last time that detailed out everything I packed. I know it was a lot. Admittedly, I think I may have even packed my curling iron. So this time I tried to scale down. It still kind of seems like a lot but I’m trying to keep in mind that I’m going to be in the hospital for a minimum of 3 days for my c-section so packing extra clothes is essential.

*HEADS UP* Make sure you get to the end of the post because I’m giving away a $75 gift card to Pink Blush Maternity!

FullSizeRender

Clothes

  • 3 pairs of drawstring sweatpants
  • 3 oversized muscle tanks
  • 2 super comfy hoodies
  • 2 nursing tanks
  • several pairs of socks
  • Fuzzy Slippers – these are essential
  • Hospital/Nursing Gown

I would ideally wear leggings but I don’t want anything pressing too closely on my scar, just in case. I also am not sure about how cute I’ll look with the mesh undies and big ol’ nasty jumbo pads everywhere so I’d rather just go with some nice sweatpants to hide under. I bought the muscle tanks in larges so it’ll be easy to BF and they aren’t super tight. Hospitals are cold so the hoodies are important to help with that! My favorite part is the slippers. I buy them in a size up to account for super swollen feet. It’s just a nice little treat for your feet when you have to walk around post-op.

Oh and a new addition for my hospital bag this year is a nursing gown! I am usually over buying pregnancy clothes at this point but this is the one maternity item on my wish list from last time. The first couple weeks or so that you are home from the hospital, you’re going to want to just be in as little amount of layers as possible. At the same time, you’ll have guests… a lot… so you want to be decent. That’s why this nursing gown is AWESOME!! You can score one of these hospital gowns (plus some other cute maternity clothes goodies) for yourself… just make sure to enter the giveaway at the end of this post!

IMG_0918

Beauty/Care Products

  • Mini Shampoo/Conditioner
  • Mini Body Wash
  • Makeup
  • Toothbrush/Toothpaste
  • Makeup Remover Wipes/Face Wash
  • Chapstick
  • Hair dryer/Brush
  • Nipple Cream
  • Deodorant
  • Perfume
  • Hair ties

Some people can get by with less but when I’m feeling yucky (and you’ll feel sort of yucky after surgery), I want to look like a normal human being. Also because a bunch of people are stopping by and you don’t want to look like a complete monster plus people take pictures of you and ew. I’m not saying you have to completely doll up with falsies and everything. I’m just saying wash your hair/body, brush your teeth, and put some mascara on… it’ll make a big difference. I have had a birchbox for awhile and I love it! I usually save up my luxury samples for situations like this. Check with your hospital beforehand and see what they provide. A lot of times they will provide lanolin, pads, witch hazel, etc. I know mine has shampoo, conditioner and body wash but I would rather bring my own.

IMG_0919

Electronics

  • Digital Camera/Syncing cord/Charger
  • Phone Charger
  • Laptop/Charger

I always think why would I need my laptop or this or that? I just am going to spend all this time bonding. Yes, you’ll spend time bonding but you’ll also have time that the baby is sleeping and you can’t sleep and you just want to escape for a minute. I took a ton of photos of Palmer with my DSLR last time and plan on doing the same this time.

* I started this post before this weekend when my poor laptop was murdered by an angry dog knocking over a water while trying to get the neighbor knocking on the door. The goal is to get it replaced soon but I’m not sure it will be before new baby’s arrival.

Miscellaneous

  • Snacks
  • Pen
  • Insurance Cards
  • Nipple Shields

Snacks are a must. Especially snacks you haven’t been able to have in a long time… like beef jerky. Pringles too… those weren’t restricted during pregnancy but they are the most delicious snack ever. A pen is super handy for filling out all the necessary paperwork at the hospital. They gave me a nipple shield in the hospital when Palmer struggled to latch. The goal would be that new baby has no issue with the latch and I wouldn’t need the assistance but if not, those are a must! I would rather use that than have to supplement with formula (not that there is anything wrong with being FF). They may give me one in the hospital again this time if I struggle. Lastly, insurance cards are a must. Duh.


PINK BLUSH GIVEAWAY

Not your mother’s maternity wear… Maternity clothes have always been frumpy, sad, and ugly. Think overalls, muu muus, and sad oversized shirts. I strongly believe that the maternity clothes you purchase to fit your growing bump should be able to work during the pregnancy and post-pregnancy. Pink Blush basically created just that! Cute maternity clothes that are affordable, trendy, and stretchy enough to flatter your shape while you are getting back to your pre-pregnancy size. What I didn’t realize about Pink Blush is that they offer non-maternity and plus-size options as well so everyone can wear them! Score!

Okay okay, so now that you know how awesome Pink Blush is… are you ready to enter this giveaway already? It’s super easy and I’ll give you a few ways to enter to win:

  1. Comment on this blog post with your MUST HAVE hospital bag item!
  2. Like this post.
  3. Subscribe to iamjustaudrey | blog either through wordpress or via email (sign up located on the right side bar). Make sure to let me know in a comment below if you have signed up!

Pretty simple right? Contest will run until next Tuesday (7/26/16) and a winner will be announced next week. Official rules can be found below. Good luck!

The fine print: This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with WordPress. I hereby release WordPress of any liability. Winner will be contacted by email 48 hours after the giveaway ends. Winner is not eligible for $75 gift card if they have won a Pink Blush giveaway within the past 3 months or are part of the affiliate blogger program. If the original winner is not eligible, a new winner will be selected and verified within 24 hours. If you have any additional questions – feel free to send us a message through the contact page!

Contest is closed. Thank you to everyone who participated in this contest. The random winner is: 

Screen shot 2016-07-26 at 8.36.21 PM

Disclaimer: I received my awesome nursing gown from Pink Blush in return for trying this product and telling you about it! The opinions expressed above are completely my own. *I really do like the robe* 🙂

iamjustaudrey_hospitalbaggiveaway

25 thoughts on “What’s In My Hospital Bag (+ $75 Pink Blush Giveaway)

  1. Trisha Purdon says:

    Earth mamma angel baby nipple butter and bottom balm. It’s a tie!! I’m signing up now. A16 shoutout!

  2. Brenda Guardado says:

    You make some good points about what to have!
    My number one pick is hand sanitizer, it is one of my best friends.
    Now to enter the drawing, if lady luck is on my side.
    I liked as plsmile. Subscribed through newsletter as zkmoon14@yahoo.com

    • justaudrey says:

      Awesome! Hand sanitizer is a good one! Our room has an in-room sanitizer machine at the door so I (and our visitors) heavily relied on that while in the hospital. 🙂

      Good luck Brenda!

  3. Emily says:

    Been subscribed to you for awhile now! For me my must-have is def socks, totally necessary in the hospital and I hate wearing the ones the hospital provides. Everything else though I’m pretty okay with relying on what the hospital offers except for my own toiletries, that’s another thing I need mine own of.

    And I want to bring more clothes for baby this time! Jealous of how close you are to meeting your babe!!

  4. Joanna the Montrealer says:

    As a first time Mom, I think my must have item will be the maternity dress I got as a gift from a family member- it’s cozy and yet breathable WITH buttons to facilitate nursing. Cozy sweaters, flip flops and make up will also be needed- I will be tired but I will definitely want to feel as good as possible and staying clean and put together as much as possible will definitely help that. You have a great list and I will be coming back to see this when preparing my bag! 🙂 Thank you! I have been following you for awhile already but I also just subscribed to your e-mail updates as well. All the best!

Leave a Reply

