Hitting

We’ve entered into a new phase of toddlerhood… hitting.

Ick. It’s the worst. Not only does Palmer do it to us when she’s mad, she constantly hits herself when she doesn’t get her way. It’s never tiny hits either. They are straight punches to the chest. They don’t leave marks or anything but it’s super concerning for me. I remember when she went through a biting phase but it really didn’t last too long. This hitting phase has been going on for two weeks. I’m not sure if she is acting out because of the baby or what. It seems to only occur when she’s overly tired and doesn’t get her way. Not cool.

I’m not really sure how to handle it. I have tried to get on her level and talk to her about how it’s not okay and she shouldn’t hit herself but she’s usually way to angry at that point and is not interested in talking. I don’ know if this is something you punish? She’s already punishing herself by hitting herself so I don’t think it’s appropriate to put her in time out. She refuses to talk during these fits too. Just squawks at us. It’s all very weird and I just want it to pass.

One thought on “Hitting

  1. akw62307 says:

    Mackenzie hits from time to time. The first time or two I tell her “no”, if she hits me again I pick her up and move her somewhere else, tell her that she doesn’t need to hit and walk away for a minute. She gets upset but she stops and it doesn’t happen again for a few days. Now that I think about it she hasn’t done it in a week or more now. I hope you find something that works for you and it’s a short lived phase.

Leave a Reply

