Baby Weight Woes

Current mood: Pouty.

So I mentioned it in Emmeline’s 3 month update but we started doing weekly weight checks last week as Emma has been struggling to gain weight. Today was her second weight check and she weighed in at a whopping 10lbs, 1oz.

She gained ONE OUNCE in a week. 

I asked the pediatrician what she normally likes to see and she said one ounce a day. So yeah, not great. That means Emma hasn’t even gained 3 lbs from birth. It makes me feel bad as a mom because obviously something is wrong… well we found out what it could be today.

I was asked to bring in a poopy diaper, which I did. Dr walked out to test it, and walked back in with several containers of formula. I already knew what she was going to say before she started speaking. Emma has a dairy allergy. Ugh.

The recommendation? If I want to continue to breastfeed, cut out all dairy and red meat. It felt like my heart was ripped out in that moment. Cheese? Ice Cream? Steaks? Cheeseburgers?  PIZZA??!! All gone in an instant. We also are going to start her on Zantac. The pediatrician said it should help with her leaky gut and some of her spitting up. We are also going to check diapers every week to see how things change.

I wish I wasn’t being such a baby about this because it shouldn’t be a big deal. I mean, I have cut out things during pregnancy and survived. I know it will be okay. I know I can do it. It’s just annoying. I am not against formula. It is certainly an option for us if the diet situation doesn’t work out for me but I would love to be able to breastfeed Emmeline for a year, like I did with Palmer.

Waaah waaah waah… We’ll see how things continue. I’m going to do some research, and be prepared to ask the pediatrician lots of things come next week when I’m not so stunned by the news.

I know it takes a few weeks for dairy to be removed from your system so we have a little bit of a road ahead of us. It is definitely something that some infants can grow out of so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this isn’t a long process.

ec115b6a2802ac96063c0fc2d78485f3

6 thoughts on “Baby Weight Woes

  1. akw62307 says:

    This takes me back to my days with Mackenzie and weight gain issues. Granted ours was because of a formula she wasn’t digesting but it was frustrating not watching the scale move. I don’t know if you follow a blog called The MD and Me but she’s having a similar issue with her 2nd and cut all dairy out. She ended up ordering formula from Germany (Hipp). Your babies are about the same age.

    I hope she’s able to gain some weight now that you know what the issue is.

  2. cookingdairyfree says:

    Finding a formula that is dairy free and soy free (40% of babies with a milk allergy also have a soy allergy) is difficult and expensive. I think it is great that you want to keep breastfeeding. You can do it!

  3. playinghousewi says:

    How’s the diet going? I had to eliminate dairy and soy with both kiddos, but now with Henry at 6 months, I’ve started to add dairy back in… and by add it back in, I mean I took down about 4 slices of cheese last night. The time will fly by.

    • justaudrey says:

      Terrible. I hate it. I mean, I like that Oreos and Costco churros are dairy free but miss everything creamy and cheesy. We had her 4 mo checkup and our pediatrician said it’s likely that she won’t be able to have dairy until after a year old. She did say I could try some red meat so I’ll be destroying some brisket on Christmas Eve.

Leave a Reply

