Palmer at 2.5

IMG_9332_Edit

Excuse me while I just cry a little. How do I have a two and a half year old? Impossible.

Palmer is so many words. I can’t even begin to wrap my head around all that she is.

Funny. Energetic. Loud. Entertainer. Loving. Kind. Compassionate. Playful. Happy-go-lucky. Silly. Intelligent. Beautiful. Diva. Challenging. Curious. Active. Firecracker.

I could go on and on. We see her personality come out more and more every day, and what I mean by that is there is no shortage of personality. She is everything good and everything people warn you about when it comes to a two-year-old. She keeps me on my toes, daily.

I haven’t done an update since she turned 2 so I figured I would dedicate a post to everything Palmer and where she’s at now.

IMG_9311_Edit

I did her measurements today and she weighs 29.4 lbs (60.5%) and 34.75″ tall (32.5%). Do you remember how tiny she was oh so long ago? And her HAIR?! She has HAIR! It’s even long enough to put in a ponytail. We are potty trained. She occasionally has accidents but they are few and far between. She’s wearing 24M/2T and 3T clothes, depending on the brand. Sometimes she can wear 18M because she’s still a little vertically challenged.

Girlfriend has a healthy appetite. I can’t think of many foods that she does not like besides watermelon. I’m so grateful that she is not a picky eater like me. She will try everything. She can eat her weight in shrimp and LOVES fruit. She has surprised me during some meals, like asking for *more* brussel sprouts and telling me how much she LOVED my asparagus soup. Those don’t seem like flavors a 2-year-old would like but I am happy she does.

Palmer loves to play pretend. She has an amazing imagination. She’s always caring for her babies or playing doctor. She loves to color and create. And music? She will go wild and dance. She LIVES to dance. She also loves watching some of her favorite shows like Bubble Guppies and Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom, as well as any Disney princess movie. She also likes singing… a lot. She sings the ABC song, Daddy Shark, Five Little Monkeys, all the Frozen songs, Twinkle Twinkle, and so many more.

She has a great vocabulary. We can understand nearly everything she is saying, sometimes she is mumbly though. She speaks mostly in full sentences. She’s a chatterbox. She will strike up a conversation with everyone, which makes quick stops at the grocery store into significantly longer trips. I guess it’s good because she’s friendly but I get a little worried about her saying something offensive.

Palmer is not without her challenges. She struggles with listening sometimes, hits when she’s really naughty, and throws lots of tantrums. Lots and lots. We’re working on finding a balance. I’m working on keeping my cool. I’m not great about it so it’s a daily struggle. Sometimes I forget she’s only 2. I try and give myself a break because I’m still trying to figure out how to parent.

Despite all our struggles, she can warm my heart in an instant with every “I love you” and “Mommy, you’re my best friend”. She loves morning cuddles, giving her little sister “boops” on the nose, and telling the cutest jokes ever.

I love this kid.

IMG_8279_Edit

2 thoughts on “Palmer at 2.5

Leave a Reply

